A Long Journey to Tsim Sha Tsui

I once asked my dad to have our family excursion in South Korea. He replied, he won’t pay my tickets merely to have ordinary oversea trips. If I really want to go, I shall use my own money.

Hence when air asia offered cheap tickets to Macau, I decided to purchase two return tickets for March 2013. It was July 2012, so I had eight months to collect some money for accommodation.

And that’s it. After doing some part-time jobs, saving up my allowance, getting a help from my mom to pay the hotel bills (which I’m really grateful, Alhamdulillah), I praise Allah because He let me and my sister to visit Macau and Hong Kong (HK) for five days.

There were seven of us, all girls. We agreed to make this escapade as cheap as possible, so everything had been prepared before we took off. The itinerary was made and we had to be on time in following the schedule. For some reasons, we decided to spend three nights in HK and one night in Macau.

After the airplane landed in the Macau international airport, we rushed to Taipa Temporary Ferry Terminal. FYI, ferry to HK are sailing from two terminals : Taipa Temporary Ferry Terminal and Outer Harbor Ferry Terminal. Ferry from Taipa will bring us to Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal in Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, and the other one will be pulled down in Hong Kong China Ferry Terminal (Kowloon, Hong Kong). Taipa Terminal is very near to the airport, but we took two cabs to get there due to the heavy luggage. Macau drivers do not speak English, luckily I’ve printed “TAIPA TEMPORARY TERMINAL” in Chinese words. They understand after I showed them the paper.

We used Cotai Jet, and the ticket price was around HKD 160-172 (sorry I forget the exact amount). Good news, they accept credit cards.🙂 Though it’s only economy class, I should say it’s more comfortable than my plane seat from Kuala Lumpur (KL) to Macau. In addition, it’s less costly (around RM 50).

 

***

Hello, Hong Kong! My first impression in HK : crowded. KL is not this populous. It’s more like Jakarta, with a clean environment and more advanced technology. People are everywhere, and they are all (of course) Chinese.

Turned out that Sheung Wan is far from Kowloon. They are in different island, what did I expect? Taking the MTR from Sheung Wan station, we at first needed to buy Octopus cards. Mom only gave us one Octopus card, so my sister needed to buy her own. It’s HKD 100 inclusive to refundable HKD 50 deposit, HKD 30 administration cost and HKD 20 handling charge.  Since it’s refundable, you can get your unused (if any) deposited money when you leave HK.

Here I am, Tsim Sha Tsui Station!

We got to book two rooms from a cheap hostel in Kowloon, thanks to Elli’s father. The total payment was $540 for three nights, so USD540 : 7 = USD77.5 each. It is located in Tsim Sha Tsui area, facing Kowloon Mosque. Mom said to choose this hotel because it’s quite cheap and if there are any cheaper hotels, the location might be dangerous for us.

When we checked in, the office man actually gave us three rooms! Everyone got their own bed, thank God Alhamdulillah. This is my room looked like,

Tsim Sha Tsui on the first night we came…

Kowloon Mosque. Do not expect yourself to hear a loud azan from the masjid, because it won’t happen. I guess it’s the regulation in Hong Kong to make the masjids keep their azan sound inside the hall.

Kuala Lumpur – Macau – Hong Kong. What a long journey. I’ll continue in the next pot. 🙂

 

First night in Tsim Sha Tsui

Tinggalkan Balasan

